葛量洪号灭火轮展览馆

為香港康乐及文化事务署設計博物馆

葛量洪号灭火轮展览馆位于香港岛东区的鲗鱼涌公园内,于2012年正式对外开放,通过实物展示著名的灭火轮「葛量洪号」,带人们走近香港的消防历史,增进市民对香港海上救援工作的认识。整个展馆占地约3,500平方尺,内有图文并茂的时间轴,介绍香港消防工作从1883年至今的三个主要历史时期。

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/FIREBOAT-web-1.jpg

挑战

客户的任务要求中包含了许多挑战性的因素:不仅要将外形庞大的灭火轮「葛量洪号」安置在现场,还要设立半开放式的博物馆展区,吸引各个年龄层的广大受众。与大众的联系是我们设计过程的出发点。打造一个兼具广泛吸引力,又不乏独特个性的展览,是我们团队面临的最大挑战。

我们的方案

我们必须用一种亲切、有趣的方式去和观众沟通,讲述这样一个重要的故事。香港的天际线、消防员头盔(孩子心目中消防员的象征)、消防器具及轮船这四个标志性的事物被我们用作中心主题,贯穿整个展览的时间轴。我们通过这几个事物的演变,讲述香港消防史多年来的变迁与发展。

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/FIREBOAT-web-2a.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/FIREBOAT-web-2b.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/FIREBOAT-web-2c.jpg

我们将原本的中央广场改建为一个半圆形的水池,作为放置葛量洪号的场所,而船身将隐于水平线下。展厅的布局像水纹一样有弯曲回转的轮廓。天花板上的圆形天窗让上方水池上的粼粼波光摄入展厅,而弯曲的玻璃墙让人们可轻松观察外部的天气。

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/FIREBOAT-web-3c.png
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/FIREBOAT-web-3a.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/FIREBOAT-web-3b.jpg

防风展窗深度很浅,因此我们在摆设展物时采用了舞台场景般的层次化的设计。各种各样的仿制品按照它们的工作状态摆设,以凸显其功能。同时配合多媒体游戏及视频,为展览更增添了互动性。

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/FIREBOAT-web-4.png

我们还为灭火轮设计了标牌,在设计上结合展馆的特色,并突出了其中的信息元素。

Fireboat A. Grantham

Museum design for LCSD

Located on the waterfront in Quarry Bay Park, the museum gallery opened in 2012 to give visitors a view into Hong Kong’s fire fighting past and the history of the Fireboat Alexander Grantham. The Fireboat itself is installed on site and open to the general public. Occupying roughly 3,500 sq. ft., the exhibition works along a visual timeline covering three key periods, from 1883 to the present day.

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/FIREBOAT-web-1.jpg

The challenge

The brief included some unusual factors: the enormous physical presence of the Fireboat Alexander Grantham on site, the fact that the museum gallery is semi-outdoors and that the content had to appeal to a wide audience – from young children to adults. The relationship with the public was the starting point for the design of the exhibition gallery. Aiming to create mass appeal, and yet create unique displays, was the primary challenge for the team.

Our Approach

We had to devise approachable and playful methods for telling this important story and connecting to the audience. Four iconic items served as central motifs that transform throughout the exhibition timeline: the Hong Kong skyline, the firemen’s helmets (something children always associate with firemen), fire fighting tools and boat design. How the appearance of these items change over time is key to the chronological narrative of the exhibition.

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/FIREBOAT-web-2c.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/FIREBOAT-web-2b.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/FIREBOAT-web-2a.jpg

Carved out of the adjacent garden and set at level with the sea, the layout of the exhibition gallery curves and flows, just as water does. Circular skylights in the ceiling allow water-tinged shadows to stream onto the exhibition from the pond above, while curved glass walls make all-weather viewing possible.

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/FIREBOAT-web-3a.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/FIREBOAT-web-3c.png
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/FIREBOAT-web-3b.jpg

The weatherproof display cases are very shallow, so we used a method of layering information similar to stage sets. Various artefacts are positioned in an active mode, showing their function, as opposed to being displayed in a passive manner – while multimedia games and videos add an interactive element to the exhibition.

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/FIREBOAT-web-4.png

We also created all the signage for the Fireboat, highlighting informational elements and designed to relate to the look of the exhibition gallery.