香港科技园

为关善明建筑师事务所设计导向系统及室内空间

香港科技园提供面积达330,000平方米的科研办公空间及配套设备,拥有150多家高精尖科技公司。由于园区本身的科技属性和庞大体量,其有效性需要在各个方面、从节能设施一直到导向系统、都得到统一体现。我们为科技园策划并设计了一套完备的导视系统,在实现导向功能的同时,完全融于我们为园内第三期设计的室内空间当中。

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/04/MC_SciencePark-web17.jpg

挑战

园区体量庞大,拥有20多座交叉连通的大楼,而且每一座都有多组出入口。因此,导向路线的规划必须符合用户的行走直觉。除此之外,导向系统需足够醒目且可靠,同时又要与公共空间的整体设计融为一体。

我们的方案

受园区建筑晶状结构的启发,我们将这种多棱面竖线作为通用视觉语言,贯穿于整体室内空间及导向系统,并在室内设计中埋入导向指引,帮助用户更加轻易的甄别路线。导视牌则直接装嵌在墙面上,成为楼体空间的有机组成部分。

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/BnW-01.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/Coloursx2-01.jpg

香港科学园共分三期-第一期位于东区,第二期及三期位于西区。我们按照设计要求,根据分属的色彩编码为园区第三期设计室内空间及导向系统。由于导向系统将被运用在整个园区,因此我们需要全面研究园区整体的路线规划。

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/Wayfind_Strategy-01.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/Collage-SciencePark-01.jpg

从导引目录,卫生间标示,到停车场户外墙体,我们设计了一整套全面完整的导向系统。系统的平面语言逻辑通顺且谨慎低调,应用起来非常方便,并可随着时间的推移而演变。

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/IMG_3439_2_web.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/IMG_3483_web.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/MC_SciencePark-web03.jpg

视觉语言在多方面得到应用。经由多重玻璃面板传递出的导引信息简明易懂,从中强调指示区域与其他楼层及通道的关系。

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/MC_SciencePark-web16.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/MCscipark-1054_adj.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/concept.jpg

导向系统与室内空间不应脱离建筑而存在。通过与建筑师的紧密协作,我们将导向系统与室内空间的设计融进建筑主题。参考楼体的晶状结构,我们设计了一种多棱面墙体,在某一特定角度会显露出彩色条纹,为用户引导方向。

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/MC_SciencePark-web10.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/MC_SciencePark-web15b.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/MC_SciencePark-web01b.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/MC_SciencePark-web07.jpg

通过统一的竖形条状视觉语言,导向系统与同样由我们设计的室内空间被有机的整合为一体。

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/06/eco_path_signage2.jpg

“绿里程”是介绍第三期可持续发展大楼的特别设施,向大众推广环保文化及绿色生活。导视牌沿教学路线设立,标注导航信息及相关教学内容。

Hong Kong Science Park

Wayfinding and Interior Design for Simon Kwan & Associates

Home to 150 high-technology companies, the Hong Kong Science Park is a science and technology hub covering an area of 330,000 sq. metres in the New Territories. In order to create an environment that is consistently efficient, from its energy-saving construction practices to the navigation for users and visitors in the enormous site, we came up with a strong and comprehensive wayfinding and signage strategy that integrates into the interior space we designed for Phase 3 of the Park.

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/04/MC_SciencePark-web17.jpg

The challenge

With a complex encompassing more than 20 interconnected buildings, all with multiple entry and exit points, it was crucial to develop an intuitive routing strategy for users and visitors so that they would not be disoriented. Our challenge was to devise a wayfinding system that is distinct enough to provide immediate and reliable directional guidance, yet blends with the interior design of public areas that we created.

Our Approach

Drawing inspiration from the architectural concept of crystalline structures, faceted vertical lines were employed as the common visual language for our wayfinding and interior design. We designed a wayfinding strategy which created intuitive cues in the interior design to help visitors find their way more easily. Signage was built into the walls themselves and became part of the building environment.

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/Coloursx2-01.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/BnW-01.jpg

The Hong Kong Science Park consists of three phases - Phase 1 is located in the East, while Phase 2 and 3 are in the West. The design brief required us to design interior spaces as well as the wayfinding system in Phase 3 according to the assigned colour coding. Since the wayfinding design would be applied to the whole site, it was necessary to analyse the complex routing system of the entire Science Park.

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/Wayfind_Strategy-01.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/06/Collage-SciencePark-02-01.png

We developed a holistic wayfinding system that extended from interior directories and toilet signs to the exterior walls in the carpark. The logical and discreet graphic system was easy to implement and designed to grow over the years.

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/IMG_3483_web.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/IMG_3439_2_web.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/MC_SciencePark-web03.jpg

The visual language was implemented in various applications. Complex directional information was communicated through layered glass on the panels, highlighting the location of the designated area in relation to the other floors and pathways.

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/concept.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/MC_SciencePark-web16.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/MCscipark-1054_adj.jpg

To ensure that the signage and interior space relate to the architecture, we worked with the architects to merge our design with the thematic concept for the buildings. Referencing the structure of crystals, we constructed a signage infrastructure with multi-faceted stone feature walls that reveal coloured stripes at a certain angle, giving visitors an intuitive sense of direction.

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/MC_SciencePark-web01b.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/MC_SciencePark-web15b.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/MC_SciencePark-web10.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/MC_SciencePark-web07.jpg

Bound together by a unified visual language of stripes and vertical lines, the complementary signage design was fully integrated into the interior space we created.

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/06/eco_path_signage2.jpg

The Green Trail is a special feature that introduces the sustainable building features of the Phase 3 development to the public, promoting an eco-friendly culture and suggesting ideas for green living. Designated panels were set up along the educational path to deliver relevant information and aid navigation around the outdoor area.