太阳馆

为新鸿基地产设计博物馆

要想了解太阳及其内部的构造原理可不是件容易的事情。我们面临的挑战就是如何将这样一个庞大的命题以一种简单明了的方式展现在大众面前,并加入互动的元素让人们乐在其中。因此,我们结合一些电子及模拟的互动工具,为人们打造出一系列寓教于乐的科学体验。

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/EnergyOnEarth-LR-1.jpg

挑战

我们的设计团队对这一主题并不熟悉,因此需要进行大量的研究与调查,以进一步设计展馆内容。博物馆内的展览及叙述要满足不同参观人群的需求,从小学生到物理研究学者,都是其目标群体。因此,我们必须设计出内容简明,教育性强且风格大气成熟的展览。

我们的方案

我们将所需要传递的科学信息分放在不同的单元,从宇宙、星系到太阳,再一路深入到原子内部的结构与测量。整个参观旅途与博物馆的建筑结构相结合,被分为八个部分,每一部分都设有触摸式或体验式的平台为人们介绍相关的科学信息。

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/SolarT-LR-12.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/SolarT-LR-11.jpg

银河系互动展览及太空漫游站两个环节令访客能够尽情探索银河系的奥秘,通过虚拟漫游在太阳系内穿梭,了解到关于各个星球的有趣信息

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/SolarT-LR-6.jpg

我们利用专业的塔式太阳望远镜把太阳的白光影像投影在展厅中心,将太阳表面变幻莫测的活动通过实时画面,清晰地展示在访客眼前。通过引入真实的阳光,展览中的许多抽象概念与物理知识瞬间生动了起来。

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/SolarT-LR-1.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/SolarT-LR-5.jpg

互动性的展示可令复杂的科学概念更简单易懂。例如,在图中的展区内,我们设计了一个有趣的转轮,转轮转动时,上面的文字时隐时现。这个装置向人们介绍如何使用滤光镜捕捉太阳的可见光谱与不可见光谱。

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/SolarT-LR-3.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Barcode-LR-3.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Barcode-LR-4.jpg

我们还在展览中注入了兼具艺术性及教育性的信息。在解释彩色吸收光谱的展板上,我们通过細緻的小图标及细节变化,让近距离参观的访客欣赏到更有趣的整体设计。

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/ST-graphic-05.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/ST-graphic-07.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/ST-graphic-06.jpg

博物馆内插画风格的展板也是我们艺术性设计的体现,这样的做法令原本生涩、冰冷的科学知识变得更加平易近人。展板内的所有图案都是我们为太阳馆专门设计的。

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/SolarT-LR-7.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Tower-LR-11.jpg

展馆中庭内设有一个引人瞩目的巨型雕塑,寓意着太阳是我们的生命之源。因为展馆的所有设计及出展内容都由一支团队倾力打造,每一个元素都暗含玄机,蕴含独特的意味,却又能够天衣无缝地融入博物馆的整体设计中。

Solar Tower Museum

Museum design for Sun Hung Kai

Understanding the Sun and its inner workings is no easy task. It was our challenge to present this massive subject in a concise and informative, yet engaging, manner. To do so, we used a mix of digital and analogue interactive tools, making for a hands-on and entertaining experience.

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/EnergyOnEarth-LR-1.jpg

The challenge

The design team was new to the subject, so we needed to conduct substantial research to support the content development process. The exhibits and narrative had to cater for a wide range of audiences – from primary school children to physics academics. Therefore, we had to devise an approach that would make the content easy to understand, yet knowledgeable and sophisticated in tone.

Our Approach

We communicated the scientific information by focusing on the scale involved, zooming in from universes and star systems to the Sun, and then continuing all the way to subatomic measurements. The journey was divided into eight sections that complemented the architectural design and each section focused on tactile and kinetic touch points to explain the scientific information.

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/SolarT-LR-12.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/SolarT-LR-11.jpg

The Milky Way interactive display and Space Travel Portal allowed visitors to explore the Milky Way, virtually travel through the Solar System and learn interesting facts about the planets.

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/SolarT-LR-6.jpg

A live image of the Sun from the Solarscope allowed visitors to have a close look at the Sun’s activity in real time. We used optics designed for research being conducted by the Solar Tower to capture and display the Sun’s light. By bringing real sunlight into the exhibition, we linked our physical reality to the more abstract concepts discussed in the displays.

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/SolarT-LR-5.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/SolarT-LR-1.jpg

Interactive displays make it easier to understand complex scientific concepts. In this case, the use of filters to focus on the visible and invisible spectrums of the Sun is demonstrated by turning a wheel that reveals and hides information.

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Barcode-LR-4.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Barcode-LR-3.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/SolarT-LR-3.jpg

We injected the displays with artistic, as well as educational, messages. The explanations of the color absorption spectrum seen on the wall panels above become even more interesting as the small icons and details of the design are seen up close.

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/ST-graphic-06.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/ST-graphic-07.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/ST-graphic-05.jpg

The artistic content included establishing an illustration style for the museum that conveys accurate information in a friendly manner. All of the graphics in the space were developed specifically for the Solar Tower exhibits.

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Tower-LR-11.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/SolarT-LR-7.jpg

The massive structure in the atrium space at the centre is more than an eye-catching sculpture. It serves as an analogy of the Sun being at the centre of our life. With the design and content being done by a single team, each element is embedded with meaning, while being part of the overall design.