2013香港巴塞尔艺术展贵宾室

为太古地产打造贵宾室体验

2013年,太古地产第二次担任巴塞尔艺术展的主办方之一, 委托曼可尚为其展馆内的贵宾室进行设计。这一艺术盛会首次在亚洲举行,于香港会议展览中心展示了来自世界各地3500多位艺术家的作品。巴塞尔艺术展不仅是艺术收藏家的盛会,更深受国际策展人、作家、思想家及时尚潮人等不同人群的喜爱。

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Swire-artbasel-LR-7.jpg

挑战

一方面,贵宾室时常需要用于举办讲座、鸡尾酒会等活动,或为宾客提供思考、休息的空间;另一方面,这一贵宾室又是太古地产展示其对于都市生活与香港文化之理解的重要桥梁。因此,我们进行设计时,需要兼顾空间的功能性与概念感,让无论是初来乍到的访客,还是长期居住于此的居民,都能够在此对香港产生进一步的认识。

我们的方案

我们决定向人们展示香港稠密人口和拥挤街道背后不为人知的一面。在高耸的围墙背后,不同的社区通过桥梁、庭院、隧道和人行道相互连接,构成了繁密的都市网络。我们把超过170个模型箱子悬挂半空中,香港建筑物林立的街道、城市的地标及公共空间以色彩鲜明的影像呈现于模型内,以展现香港活力四射的生活剪影。

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Swire-artbasel-LR-1.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Swire-artbasel-LR-6.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Swire-artbasel-LR-5.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Swire-artbasel-LR-10.jpg

该装置位于主展区的中央大厅入口处,开阔的空间让我们得以打造出高低起伏的抽象式地貌。

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Swire-artbasel-LR-2.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Swire-artbasel-LR-3.jpg

从高处俯看时,这一装置显得格外开放。不同模型箱子间的空隙代表了香港孔隙式的都市环境。这些空间也为宾客们提供了坐下小憩,静心观赏的机会。

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Swire-artbasel-LR-8.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Swire-artbasel-LR-13.png

从下仰视这一装置则能够让人们享受最完整的贵宾室体验。顶部的灯光透过模型透明的“天花板”投射下来,展现出香港五光十色的都市质感与魅力四射的现代生活。

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Swire-artbasel-LR-12.png

开幕宴会邀请函与贵宾室印刷周边的设计在巧妙结合太古地产品牌标识的同时,凸显出该装置独特的视觉效果。

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Swire-artbasel-LR-14.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Swire-artbasel-LR-12.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Swire-artbasel-LR-13.jpg

巴塞尔艺术展期间,我们在贵宾室内举办了《让对话继续》系列的主题沙龙,各界人士围绕香港都市环境对艺术行业的影响展开了热烈的讨论。

VIP Lounge Experience at Art Basel 2013

Lounge Design for Swire Properties

For their second year as a host of the art fair, Swire Properties turned to Marc & Chantal to create a VIP Lounge at Art Basel in Hong Kong, in 2013. The event was the first edition of Art Basel to be located in Asia and was held at the Hong Kong Conventions and Exhibition Centre, which showcased works from 3,500 artists worldwide. Not merely for collectors, Art Basel attracted international curators, writers, thinkers and cool-hunters alike.

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Swire-artbasel-LR-7.jpg

The challenge

The functional requirements of the lounge space to host talks, cocktail events and provide a reflective space for guests was matched by the strong conceptual base needed to relay Swire Properties’ interest in the urban life and culture of Hong Kong. We had to create a space that added to guests’ perceptions of the city, both for new visitors and long-time residents.

Our Approach

We decided to show the other side of Hong Kong's famous density and intimidating crowded streets. Behind imposing walled entrances, neighbourhoods are linked by bridges, courtyards, tunnels and walkways that form rich networks in the daily life of the metropolis. These connections reveal vibrant flashes of life and the visual poetry found in the collage of materials, colours and shapes of these connections is seen in the 170 overhead blocks that feature photos of the architecture and people of Hong Kong.

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Swire-artbasel-LR-1.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Swire-artbasel-LR-6.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Swire-artbasel-LR-5.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Swire-artbasel-LR-10.jpg

The space allocated to the installation was an enormous hall at the entrance to the main exhibition area. The open space allowed us to play with the rise and fall of the blocks to create an abstract topography for the installation.

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Swire-artbasel-LR-2.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Swire-artbasel-LR-3.jpg

When seen from above, the installation opens up, with open areas among the blocks representing the porosity to be found in the urban landscape of Hong Kong. These openings also make the space more inviting for the guests sitting below.

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Swire-artbasel-LR-8.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Swire-artbasel-LR-13.png

Seeing the blocks from underneath was the key to getting the full experience of the lounge. With overhead lights shining through the transparent ‘ceilings’, the blocks displayed vibrant colours found in photographs of Hong Kong urban textures and activity.

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Swire-artbasel-LR-12.png

The Vernissage party invitations and printed collaterals for the lounge were designed to match both the style of the Swire Properties brand identity and the visual highlights of the lounge installation.

  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Swire-artbasel-LR-14.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Swire-artbasel-LR-12.jpg
  • http://www.marc-chantal.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Swire-artbasel-LR-13.jpg

As an activation of the space, we organised a talk to be held in the lounge during Art Basel. We conceived and produced a special edition of our ongoing Le Salon discussion series that was held in the lounge. The topic centred around the impact of the urban environment of Hong Kong on artists’ practices.